Positive Peer Pressure at PEST

A little alliteration doesn’t hurt, right?

The three day weekend which consisted of Rapid Software Testing Management course and the first peer conference of context-driven testers  in Estonia (in other words: Peers of Estonian Software Testing) was awesome. Literally. I went to work today and I was happy and energetic. Despite the fact that the days were intensive, I felt as if I had just come back from vacation. That’s what being around great people can do to you!

Also, everything that I experienced gave me the relevant kick-start to actually post to the blog I had created a while back. So I get to “blame” Oliver Vilson for inviting me to that event and convincing me that I have something to talk about, and James Bach for telling me he wants to hear more from me. The sarcastic part of me asks if this blog post is all about vanity then but it is not so. I’m sincere and I mean every word here.

What does it take to create the magic? Get great and thoughtful people together and have them share their experience with others about something that really matters to everyone involved. I truly hope the magic will last and I hope I can contribute to it as well.

The most important gains for me were

  • the people – I got to know a number of human beings I didn’t know anything about. And I feel lucky now that I do know them.
  • the revitalized self-belief – I had been bogged down by the routine of everyday work; I’d got tired and didn’t have the strength to rear my head and be hopeful. Don’t mock me if I say I feel like I’m breathing again
  • the stories and the ideas – I can’t wait to do great things with my team!
  • the community – if I get tired again or I feel overwhelmed, I know where to go. I am thankful for this.

Special thanks goes out to Rasmus Koorits and Indrek Kõnnussaar for making me rack my brain. It felt great and I realized I had also been losing some of my edge (similar to Rasmus’s experience story except it happened to me at work – so beware!). I also learned something about how the wheels in my head turn.

Eventually, one of the most important thoughts I took with me was about my background and its value. But that’ll be another blog post.

Chime in!

